Sunday, June 19, 2011

KonstruKt - Dolunay (2011)

Saxophonist Peter Brötzmann becomes the perfect component for konstruKt on this record. His daring and resourceful approach fits in well and adds to the shape and trajectory of the music. The band forges several manifestations through lengthy interpolations. A fine sense of balance imbues the music with composition, playing as vital a role as freedom. It is a feast for the mind and the ears when Brötzmann and Futaci engage in conversation. The chemistry between them is just right and while Futaci can be more ingrained into the composition as he is on "Dolunay" for one, Brötzmann is in his comfort zone of polyrhythmic spirals. "Makinali" has a more limber body. Melody is rife and attractive, but Çağlar finds his muse in feeding loose strains before he takes it all to a higher plateau with a welter of rock notes that singe and sing in marvellous refrain. The whole is now marked by incursions from Argüden's davul and Usta's percussion as the saxophonists mark their own territory. It all casts a spell. The quartet finds a comfortable nook in both conglomerations, showing its artistic compatibility. The outpouring, whether it is in abstractions of form or in the tenets of composition, has a soul which makes it absolutely fascinating.

Korhan Arguden - Drums
Ozun Usta - Percussion
Umut Caglar - Guitar
Korhan Futaci - Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone
Peter Brotzmann - Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet

1. Dolunay ( 10:22)
2. Siyah (10:53)
3. Kurtlar (10:10)
4. Makinali (13:14)
5. Tepe (3:24)
6. Nokta (9:10)


Coisa Feita said...